NAIS Editorial Board



The Editorial Board advises the editors on issues of publishing ethics; peer reviews of submitted manuscripts; and suggestions of reviewers of submitted manuscripts and published books and other appropriate media. The Editors seek to assemble a Board that represents the demographic, geographic, and scholarly diversity of NAISA’s membership.


Board terms are four years and are staggered so that approximately one-quarter of the Board cycles off each year. Applications for Board seats are accepted each year – see below for more information.


NAIS Editorial Board


Term Ends 2023


Chadwick Allen

(Chickasaw ancestry)

University of Washington


Gloria E. Chacón

(campesino and Maya Ch’orti’)

University of California San Diego


Alyosha Goldstein

University of New Mexico


Elizabeth Sumida Huaman


University of Minnesota


Penelope Kelsey

(Seneca descent)

University of Colorado, Boulder


Jonathan Kay Kamakawiaoʻole Osorio

(Kanaka Maoli)

University of Hawaiʻi Manoa


Term Ends 2024


Hiʻilei Julia Hobart

(Kanaka Maoli)

University of Texas at Austin


Arini Loader

(Ngāti Raukawa te au ki te tonga)

Te Herenga Waka Victoria University of Wellington


May-Britt Öhman

(Lule/Forest Sámi, Tornedalian heritage)

Uppsala University and Luleå University of Technology


Keith Richotte

(Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians)

University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill


Term Ends 2025


Alejandra Dubcovsky

University of California, Riverside


Mark Rifkin

UNC Greensboro


Deondre Smiles

(Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe)

University of Victoria


Cristina Stanciu

Virginia Commonwealth University


Caroline Wigginton

University of Mississippi


Jani Wilson

(Ngāti Awa, Ngā Puhi, Mātaatua)

Te Kūnenga o Pūrehuroa

Massey University of Wellington


Term Ends 2026


Jennifer Adese


University of Toronto, Mississauga


Raymond I. Orr

(Citizen Potawatomi)

Dartmouth College


David Tavárez

Vassar College


John Troutman

National Museum of American History, Smithsonian


Eve Tuck

(Aleut Community of St. Paul Island)

University of Toronto


Michael John Witgen

(Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Ojibwa)

Columbia University





Every year Native American and Indigenous Studies seeks applicants for the Editorial Board of the academic journal. New members’ terms begin on the date of the year’s annual NAISA meeting. Applications may be submitted at any time between one year’s annual meeting and April 1 of the following year. The Editors occasionally reach out to recruit members of the Editorial Board in order to maintain a Board that represents the demographic, geographic, and scholarly diversity of NAISA’s membership.


Deadline to receive applications: April 1 of each year, or until Board is named.


Scope of NAISNAIS is a blind/peer-reviewed scholarly journal published two times a year by the University of Minnesota Press.


Key qualities of Editorial Board members:

  • An established record of scholarship in Native and Indigenous studies;
  • Strong awareness of the worldwide scope of Indigenous studies;
  • Commitment to actively serving in an advisory capacity to the editors, furthering their vision of the Journal, their vision of the Journal and fulfilling its mandate;
  • Willingness to take up various duties appropriate to the role of Editorial Board, especially (at the editors’ discretion) the assessment of manuscripts and recommending peer readers and reviewers.


Candidates must be members in good standing of NAISA and maintain their membership for the duration of the appointment.


The application packet should include:

  • Cover letter providing information about the applicant’s qualifications;
  • Curriculum vita.


All application packets (in PDF format) should be sent to: